Millwall duo up for awards – as Lions’ progress earns recognition


Millwall manager Neil Harris and midfielder George Saville are among the nominees for the 2018 London Football Awards – with other South London clubs also in the running.

Pic by Brian Tonks

Harris, who guided the Lions to promotion via the League One play-offs in May, is up for the Manager of the Year award. Crystal Palace’s Roy Hodgson has also been nominated along with Slavisa Jokanovic (Fulham), Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham) and Emma Hayes (Chelsea Ladies).

Saville – who has proved to be an astute purchase from Wolves in the summer – is in the running for the EFL Player of the Year. But he faces stiff competition in the shape of Fulham wonderkid Ryan Sessegnon. Others in his category include Alex Smithies (QPR) and Brentford duo Josh Clarke and Romaine Sawyers.

Harris said: “It’s always nice for the group to be nominated, whether that is staff or players. We take pride in that shows the achievement of us as a group.

“Whether it is me being nominated or George has been nominated, we’re very privileged because we are in a hotbed of English football in London. There are so many good teams. It shows the consistency we’ve had over that period.”

Wilfried Zaha is included in the Premier League Player of the Year. He has since picked up a knee injury which threatens to end his campaign.

He looks unlikely to claim the accolade with Tottenham’s Harry Kane a red-hot favourite. Christian Eriksen and Heung-min Son are also included from Spurs with Chelsea’s Cesar Azpilicueta making up the shortlist of five.

AFC Wimbledon are nominated in the Community Project of the Year.

Former Crystal Palace striker Ian Wright is this year’s winner of the Outstanding Contribution to London Football award. Hodgson is a previous winner.

The awards night takes place at Battersea Evolution on March 1.