Herne Hill Harriers round-up: Alex Brown sets new club U20 women’s record


Alex Brown set a new Herne Hill Harriers’ U20 women’s 1,500m record when she made her Great Britain U20 international team debut on Sunday at the Loughborough International meet..

Racing against mainly senior athletes and with the slowest personal best time among all on the start list, Brown (pictured right) ran superbly despite having at least one eye on the A level exams she is sitting this week to finish 11th.

Her time of 4:27.10 breaks the record previously set by Katie Snowden in 2013 by the narrow margin of five hundredths of a second.

Herne Hill Harriers lost out by just a point in their Southern Athletics League fixture against Hastings at Tooting Bec.

In the men’s sprints Peter Phillips ran 11.3 for second in the 100m, while Morgan Lewis also came second in 12.0. Tobi Ogunbode won the 200m (23.7), U17 Noah Ojumu came second (23.8).

Herne Hill had a powerhouse 400m squad. Phillips and Memphis Ayoade stormed round in 50.3 and 51.3 respectively for a double win. David Ryan raced around for a non-scoring 49.3.

The middle distance events saw a treble victory for Angus Butler in his first race since the Shakespeare Marathon. Butler raced to victories in the 800m in (2:01) and 1,500m in (4:15) before winning the steeplechase.

Steve Pugh and Charlie Krammer were second in the 800m (2:11) and  1,500m (4:21.9) respectively.

Eoin Brady  ran 9:52 (3,000m)  for a PB. Eric Dol ran 9:56.8 to win the B string.
Harriers had a double win in the 400m hurdles with Isaac Ogunlade running (57.8). Sam Knight took the B string in 77.9.

Team captain Ayoade kicked off the field events with a 1.73m in the high jump while Sam Knight was only 2cm off his best winning the B string in 1.58. Keith Newton placed second in the A string pole vault.

Ignatius Abebrese jumped a 5.92m PB in the long jump for second place  and won his first ever triple jump competition (12.78m).

Stuart Thurgood won the shot (12.30m), came second in the discus (33.90m) and had a big win in the hammer (50.19m).

Des Austin won the B string hammer (25.69m).

Dejean Marshall won the B string shot (10.37m). Nnaemeka Anyamele was victorious in the B string discus (26.44m).

Alex Tischler’s 41.64m took second in the javelin. Garth Francis won the B string in 30.49m.

In the women’s  sprints Esther Fuja was second in the 100m (12.5). Lilian Matamola (12.9) also placed second.

Michelle Watson and U17 Scarlett Martin were runner-ups in the 200m runs, 26.5 and 27.3 respectively

Nadine Odalakun took second in the 400m (63.5). Aimee Hargreaves won the B string in 66.0, only an hour after winning the A string 800m in 2.20. Helena Page ran a PB (2.27) to win the B string 800m.

Supervet Nikki Sturzaker ran 5.08 for third in the 1,500m. Julia Wedmore finished second in the B string (5:18).

Monika Gajek won the A string 5,000m in 19:29 with Stacy Wheat (19.36) took the B string honours.

Monika Gajek clawed back a big early lead on her training partner Stacy Wheat in the 5000m. Gajek produced a sparkling last lap for a 20sec PB to win the A string in 19.29 while Wheat won the B string in a solid 19.36. Katie Balme won the 1,500m steeplechase (5:17.3).

Niyah Costley long jumped 4.70m for second spot, matched by Michaela Mensah in the triple jump (9.56m). Jen’ae James won the shot (10.32m). Newcomer Seandelle Haley triumphed in the B string (8.91m). She then won the A string discus (21.24m) and was third in the hammer (17.79m). Emily Callaghan won the A-string javelin (33.15m).

A very strong men’s quartet won the 4x100m. The women won with equal style.

The Herne Hill A and B teams were first and second in 3:48 and 4:00 respectively in the 4x400m.

Herne Hill teams travelled to Sutton Coldfield for the BMAF British Masters road relays and were fourth in the M55 National championship and seventh in the M45 race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *