Crystal Palace to compete in Uhrencup in Switzerland this July

Crystal Palace will compete in the 55th edition of the Uhrencup in Switzerland in July.

The tournament will form part of their preparations for the 2019-20 season.

The Eagles will face FC Luzern, who play in the top tier of Swiss football, at the Tissot Arena in Biel/Bienne onTuesday July 9 at 20:00 CEST (19:00 BST),and BSC Young Boys, the reigning Swiss Super League champions, at Stadium Neufeld in Bern on Saturday July 13 2019 at 15:00 CEST (14:00 BST).

The Unhrencup features four teams – with each side playing two fixtures. Eintracht Frankfurt are the fourth side, but will not face Palace.  The Uhrencup has been running since 1962 and the current champions are fellow Premier League club Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Palace manager Roy Hodgson said: “I am very pleased that the club has opted for this tour to Switzerland. This is a very traditional tournament in these parts and with Young Boys and FC Luzern here, we will be playing against two local but difficult opponents who will challenge us.”

Hodgson guided the Swiss national team to the 1994 World Cup, in what was their first major tournament in 28 years at the time, as well as qualifying for the 1996 Euros.

The Tissot Arena in Biel/Bienne houses 5,200 fans, whilst Bern’s Stadium Neufeld has a capacity of 14,000. Tickets go on sale at 12:00 CEST (11:00 BST) via www.starticket.chon Friday 24 May. Tickets are priced from CHF 10 (approximately £8).

Palace’s pre-season is taking shape, having recently announced fixtures against Bristol City (July 27, Ashton Gate) and Hertha Berlin (August 3, Selhurst Park), with more fixtures to be announced soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *